ROGERS CABLE wants to rip you off!

I’m irked. I mean really, really, very pissed off. I can hear a constant whistling of steam bursting out of my ears and my face is a decidedly bright shade of red. I’m about to start ranting now. If you don’t like angry ranting I understand if you turn your computer off but I promise you it will be slightly humorous and enlightening.

At my home today we received a letter from our cable company, the same cable company that goes by the name of Rogers Cable, the same company that has virtually harassed our household to try and convince us to switch to their Rogers home phone service. That’s actually where the anger was given birth. First it was a regular series of phone calls asking how we liked the services we were receiving and before we could say “fine” and hang up they offered to switch us to their phone service. We said no. They phone again and again and again as if we might have changed our minds during the week or over the weekend. Two days ago we get another of those calls and the answer is still no. During my dinner there is a knock at the door and two representatives of Rogers are there to offer me phone service for $30 a month and they will give me $10 off my cable bill. I say no and try to explain that we have been with the same phone company my whole life, we are happy with their services. The guys don’t take no for an answer and think I’m just one of those “hard-sells”, clearly not wise enough to read the expression on my face that says; “keep talking and I’m considering switching television providers”.

They ask me why I would pay more for the company I’m with instead of saving money?

I look at it this way; Bell is a phone company and Rogers is a cable company. I won’t pay my phone company to watch tv and I’m sure as hell not going to pay my cable company to call my relatives up north. Plus by paying two different companies for two different services, I’m actually stimulating the economy. It’s not stimulating the economy by simply spending money, it’s how you spend your money. I’m helping to make sure people at both companies have jobs including the two assholes who came to my door and disturbed my dinner. Most importantly I’m ensuring neither company has a monopoly on the communications market. Bundle packages are dangerous things people. That’s why after you agree to them because they save you a little bit of money you start to notice that eventually the service begins to get crappy, because they want you to upgrade and pay more, plus they make you afraid to cancel the crappy service for another provider since you’ll lose such a “great deal”.

These two gentlemen standing at my door didn’t understand what I was saying. They asked me if I knew about all the great features that my cable package had to offer and I told them yes but it still sucked. Every night when my wife and I sit down to have a bit of peace and quiet to ourselves after spending a stress filled day going in opposite directions we turn on the tv and spend fifteen minutes scanning the 900 channels trying to find something, anything, to watch together. There is absolutely nothing on that we would be even minutely interested in watching. The On-Demand channel offers movies that appear on other stations on an annoying basis and want to charge you an extra six bucks to watch them at your convenience and you can watch it for that amount of money as many times as you want during a twenty-four hour period. I can pick up the same movie for ten dollars at the store and then I own it and can watch it as many times as I like for the rest of my life. The one gentlemen says why don’t I PVR it. Now, why would I do that? If ever I get sick and tired of their sales tactics or service and I cancel it, I lose the movie. It’s the same as, “Why do I buy paperback books, instead of downloading them onto a Kindle?” Because if I drop a book in a puddle of water by accident and it gets ruined I only have to pay to replace one book for $10 instead of having to buy a new $500 Kindle device plus pay $10 to replace each and every goddamn book I downloaded. What makes more sense to you, honestly? The fact is what is deemed easier by the corporations doesn’t always mean a logical and intelligent decision and it certainly isn’t any cheaper.

The young gentlemen continued to stand there and take more punishment after I told them I thought their customer service department was terrible. I like to pay my bills in person, I hate giving companies access to my bank accounts, I don’t trust them and frankly who has every been given a reason to? But the thing is, when I go into pay a Rogers bill, I wait half-an-hour to an hour to pay it. It only takes two minutes to ring it through and give me a receipt and the rest of the time is spent waiting for the two people ahead of me to finish buying their friggin’ cell phones. The young gentlemen thinks he can sell me on their phone service by telling me that the company recently fired six-hundred customer service people. I asked him if the company was “fucking stupid” and “why the hell would they do that?” He says they were being rude to customers. I explained that he would be too if he was over-worked, understaffed and stuck with a brand new system that doesn’t allow the employees to suspend a cell phone sale to take the two minutes required to take a bill payment. They needed to hire people not fire them and the real reason for letting them go was to shift the blame and add more money to the CEO’s pocket linings.

This conversation at more door lasted twenty minutes before they realized I was having fun blasting their shitty service and was mentally deciding to cut the services I am currently getting from them to the basic plan. I wasn’t one-hundred percent sure I was going to do that but then the letter came.

Read this article here If you want to know more about what’s going on.

The letter says this and these are direct quotes.

“The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (CRTC) has established a new fund to which cable tv and satellite companies are required to contribute.”

Note the use of the word “REQUIRED”, it refers to the cable tv and satellite companies, specifically.

“Starting on your first bill after August 31st, 2009, you will see a new line on your invoice called CRTC LPIF fee, and a corresponding charge of 1.5 % of your recurring monthly service fee.”

Wait a minute and pardon my French, but what the fuck? The previous line said that ROGERS CABLE was REQUIRED to pay into the fund. So why does this line say I’m actually doing the paying? Oh, wait, this next line explains why.

“The fee that is collected goes directly to the CRTC’s Local Programming Improvement Fund (LPIF). Rogers Cable receives no financial benefit from the LPIF fee. All other aspects of your service will remain the same.”

So basically the gist of it is this. The CRTC wants Rogers Cable to actually start paying for stations that up until now they have been stealing from the airwaves without renumeration and Rogers Cable is saying, that is going to cut into our profit margins, lets flip the bill onto the customers and if they don’t like it, they will complain to the CRTC who came up with this idea but either way we are still getting these channels for free that we can charge our customers for as part of their package just like we’ve been doing all along. Get the idea?

The fact is Rogers is right the money (possibly an extra $6.50 on top of the money customers already pay the company for access to these channels) doesn’t go into their pockets. Except the purpose of the fund was to make them pay for channels they we’re getting for free and charging customers for.

Do you see why I’m pissed off? And if you’re a Canadian, you should be too. This act of greed is bordering on the illegal. It’s definitely unethical. It’s a big old “Fuck you” to their customers.

But I have a few solutions to the problem. You had to know this was coming.

To cover the cost of the 1.5% increase to my bill I will be cutting my service back to basic cable, which will cost the company roughly $65 in fees a month from this particular customer. I’m also going to suggest that other customers do the same or at least scale back services by getting rid of channels from their packages that they don’t watch anymore because after the first month, you know they started to suck the old rotten egg anyways and you won’t miss them — trust me.

I also urge people to contact the CRTC and demand that Rogers Cable be charged a penalty for conducting business this way, with a stipulation in the fine that they cannot charge it back to their customers.

I then strongly urge you to contact Rogers Cable and tell them how you feel about being price gouged. Don’t cut off their service, just cut back on the amount of money they are getting from you. The idea is to show them that if they think they can penalize you for their greed that you can do it right back.

And lastly, tell all of your friends and family about this by using your own words or sending them to this blog post. Feel free to copy and paste this article into an e-mail and send it to people you know.

DON’T LET ROGERS CABLE GET AWAY WITH THIS and don’t let them convince you that it is all the CRTC’s fault. We shouldn’t have to pay for the crimes committed by greedy corporations.

3 Responses to “ROGERS CABLE wants to rip you off!”

  1. I just sent a personal complaint to the CRTC regarding the business practices of Rogers Cable. I recommend that others research the new fee and contact the CRTC as well. You can file a complaint by following this link: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/contact.htm

    Below is the letter I sent.

    “Rogers Cable Regarding new CRTC LPIF fee of 1.5% introduced by Rogers Cable and charged to their customers. Is this fee legal? The letter I received made it clear that cable tv and satellite companies were being required by the CRTC to pay into the LPIF. The exact words were that they were “required”. Further into a letter I received they stated that to cover this cost they were introducing a new fee of 1.5% onto our monthly bill. I believe this constitutes a double billing for services rendered. The stations in question are part of the basic package provided by Rogers Cable at a fee for using the service. The fee already being paid by customers for access through Rogers Cable to these channels should be used towards the LPIF (which I agree with, since cable companies should have to pay for services rendered to them, especially if they are profiting from those services) and by adding this new fee they are double billing for these services to avoid losing any of their own profit at the expense of the customers. Will the CRTC or the Canadian Government be pursuing the possibility of penalizing Rogers Cable for this conduct and safe-guarding the customers against the cost of any fines being further foisted on them? I also found their tactics at trying to influence their customers towards having a negative outlook on the LPIF and the CRTC to be insulting and downright criminal. This fee also follows a trend by Rogers Cable in using harassment type tactics under the guise of customer service calls to convince customers to switch to their phone service which includes phone calls and door-to-door visits from solicitors. These calls and visits continue even after the services are declined. I believe the CRTC needs to investigate the business practices of Rogers Communcations and put in place policies that limit these kinds of unethical business practices. There are broader economical concerns with their business conduct as well that need to be researched and investigated. Thank you for your time, Brandon Layng”

  2. Heh I would have asked the gentlemen when they eat dinner and ask for their address and that you would be by tomorrow during that time with your answer.

    You know they would squirm a bit with such a request and as soon as they said NO I would slam the door in their face and finished dinner.

  3. If you go to Bell tv’s website, you will notice that they also charge you for this 1.5% LPIF, so I guess it makes sense that Rogers would have to as well. But I agree that they are totally scamming their customers, I just recently moved and I know people that have Bundles with them and have problems with their internet and billing. There was no way I was getting a bundle with them. I also opted for Phone & Internet with Bell, they offer a much better deal with unlimited downloads and free province-wide long distance, and chose Basic Cable with Rogers. I was always under the impression that Basic Cable meant 50 channels. But no, its 24 channels that I get, for almost 50 dollars a month! And unfortunately I can’t get Bell cable in my area, so I will have to get Satellite, which is at least 100 dollars a month. I’m totally disgusted, not just by Rogers, but all companies, about the price of cable now-a-days, and what crap you get for your money. Unless you’re rich and willing to pay 1 or 200 dollars a month to be lazy a couple hours a night, it’s totally a rip off. But I guess were all suckers, even when we can’t afford it, we all want good tv.

Leave a Reply

