One of the BEST days

What do you say when a writer you have the utmost respect for, that the genre has the utmost respect for, tells you he thinks the first half of your unpublished book is good? Yeah, sure you say “thank you”. Or you can smile like an idiot and jump around like I did. Because I haven’t yet revealed who’s reading the book and since I didn’t ask his permission I can’t give out names or go into too many details (Updated below post). I’m just too damned happy to keep my mouth shut about my excitement. I have spill some of it.

Before I talk about what was said, I want to talk about the author in question. He’s written some of the most innovative horror I’ve ever read. He continually amazes me with each book I read. His fiction has made me laugh, turned my stomach and want to jump in the pages to kick some ass. He’s one of my top favorite horror authors. So any praise from him, means a great deal to me. It’s that validation we’re all looking for. You want to hear from someone who’s been there and still doing it, that you have what it takes too.

He’s not done reading the manuscript yet, and I’ve got fingers crossed his opinion doesn’t turn sour on it before the end, but… seriously, he’s already made my year. The only thing that could top it would be being able to send him a copy of the published book with one of my wishlist of publishers’ names on the spine.

To top off all the great things he said about the book, he made me feel like a writer. There’s always talk about the lonely writer sitting in a dark basement plugging out words nobody is going to read. Well, a lot of days in front of the laptop, I feel like that. Today, I didn’t feel like that. And I probably never will again. Thanks to him. So if you’re one day reading a copy of “A Walk Amongst the Dead”, be sure to drop him a line and tell him thank you again (for me, and you, if you like the book) right after you read his introduction to the book. He’s offered to write one and I want to take him up on that offer, hopefully future publishers will see it my way and put it in.

I rank this one of the best days of my life. So far.

I’m not done writing you know.

*After asking if it was okay to post his name, he said it was okay. I’m very honored to say the author of roughly 60 published books, Grand Master Stoker Award-winning author, who is reading “A Walk Amongst the Dead”, is none other than… Ray Garton! If you don’t know who he is and you’re a fan of Horror, you should be ashamed of yourself. March out or log onto Amazon and buy one of his books today. He writes some of the craziest, scariest, most twisted stuff out there. His book “Lot Lizards” recently went into reprints through e-Reads.com buy a copy HERE It’s a good place to start. Then move onto Live Girls, Bestial, Ravenous, Nightlife, The Loveliest Dead, Dark Channel and many more you’re sure to enjoy them all.

8 Responses to “One of the BEST days”

  1. Brandon, that is AWESOME news! Congratulations! I hope very much that he finishes the rest of the book in the same attitude (and I imagine he will!). Looking forward to reading when the time comes.

  2. Brandon

    I wish you well my friend.

    Stay Alive
    N

  3. Brandon, I dare say you’re blushing.

  4. That’s great news Brandon! Having read some of your previous works you were always just this close.

    Which reminds me I need to drop you a line about Angel’s Crossing.

    ~Dale

  5. That’s great news Brandon! Having read some of your previous work I can say first hand you have always been this close.

    Speaking of writing, I need to drop you an email about Angel’s Crossing.

    ~Dale

    • Thank you Dale. That means a lot man. You’ve been a huge supporter. Speaking of Angel’s Crossing, the day you gave me the okay to start sharing that with others ranks right beside the day I’m talking about in this post. I’ll keep my eye out for that e-mail. I had an idea about instalments I wanted to ask you about as well.

  6. These are genuinely wonderful ideas in on the topic of blogging.
    You have touched some nice factors here. Any way keep
    up wrinting.

Leave a Reply

